Founded in 1984, the Saskatchewan German Council is a registered volunteer-based, non-profit organization dedicated to promoting German culture, language, customs, traditions, and interests for the benefit of all Saskatchewan people.

A Board of Directors consisting of 10 elected members meets at least four times a year to set the tone and direction for all the Council’s activities. The SGC is guided in all its activities by its by-laws as well as by a comprehensive set of policies. Several committees are in place to investigate and manage matters of special interest.

As an Eligible Cultural Organization (ECO), the SGC is a member of SaskCulture, under whose umbrella it receives funding from the Sask Lotteries Trust Fund for Sport, Culture and Recreation.

Sask Lotteries funding supports a tremendous cultural infrastructure that empowers Saskatchewan’s cultural community to deliver a wide selection of cultural activities and services in Saskatchewan. As umbrella organization to over 30 member groups, SGC uses Sask Lotteries funding to serve the community with meaningful programs & projects, and to support member groups with funding.

Membership to the Council is open to any organization or individual, regardless of background, who agrees to abide by the SGC constitution and policies.

The SGC’s Head Office in Saskatoon is staffed with an Executive Director and an Office & Program Assistant.

SGC Past Presidents

2022 – present Andrea MacLeod, Regina
2019 – 2022Mervin Weiss, Saskatoon
2014 – 2019Josephin Dick, Saskatoon
2008 – 2014Ilona Beck, Rouleau
2004 – 2008Andrew Grzesina, Regina
2000 – 2004Karl Bastian, Prince Albert
1996 – 2000Dr. David Buettner, Prince Albert
1992 – 1996Bruno Kossmann, Regina
1990 – 1992George Gette, Regina
1988 – 1990Joachim Sondershausen, Hepburn
1988 – 1988Peter Felsing, Regina
1986 – 1988Richard Burback, Yorkton
1984 – 1986Joe Tauberger, Regina